Late Post

The way to handle location sharing in Android 11

You’ll be able to management when and with whom your location in shared in your Android machine.

Picture: Jason Cipriani/CNET

Google and different distributors like to trace your location by way of your Android telephone as a strategy to personalize your expertise however primarily to serve you focused adverts based mostly on the place you go. Nevertheless, you’ll be able to management if, how, and when your location will get shared by way of a number of choices constructed into the newest taste of Android.

SEE: Android 11: New options for enterprise customers (free PDF) (TechRepublic)

You’ll be able to sometimes grant location sharing all the time, by no means or simply whereas utilizing an app. You’ll be able to disable Wi-Fi and Bluetooth scanning. And you’ll flip off real-time location sharing so nobody else can discover your present whereabouts.

In your Android machine, go to Settings and choose Location. The data on the display screen tells you what number of apps have entry to your location knowledge. For those who do not wish to share your location with any app, flip off the swap on the high for Use location (Determine A).

Determine A

figure-a.jpg

Nevertheless, sure apps do must know your location to be absolutely efficient. This particularly applies to travel-related apps similar to Google Maps, Android Auto, Uber and Yelp. For that motive, you may wish to fine-tune these settings to grant or deny location sharing on a per-app foundation. That can assist you, Android offers you just a few decisions to determine how and when to share your location.

Faucet the entry for App entry to location. The following display screen reveals you the location-sharing standing of every app in your machine (Determine B).

  • Allowed All The Time means location sharing is all the time enabled, even when the app is simply operating within the background.
  • Allowed Solely Whereas In Use means location sharing is enabled solely if you’re actively utilizing the app.
  • Ask Each Time means the app will ask to trace your location every time you launch it.
  • Denied implies that your location isn’t shared with the app, even when actively utilizing it.

Determine B

figure-b.jpg

Faucet any app for which you wish to change the placement sharing. With many apps, you’ll be able to select among the many 4 totally different choices. Some apps supply solely three of the choices, excluding the one to all the time share your location. For every app, faucet the choice most comfy and suited to you. Take into consideration the app and the way you employ it. You’ll be able to all the time deny location sharing after which see how the app works. If the app does require your location, you may sometimes wish to set location sharing to solely whereas utilizing the app (Determine C).

Determine C

figure-c.jpg

Subsequent, the characteristic for Wi-Fi and Bluetooth scanning lets apps scan for Wi-Fi networks and Bluetooth entry even when Wi-Fi or Bluetooth is turned off. This may also help apps extra simply discover your location. However such scanning is often not obligatory, particularly if you have already got Wi-Fi and Bluetooth enabled. Additional, this fixed scanning can chew up battery life. To disable these choices, faucet the setting for Wi-Fi and Bluetooth scanning and switch off the swap for each (Determine D).

Determine D

figure-d.jpg

Subsequent, faucet the setting for Superior. Ensure that Emergency Location Service is turned On. If enabled, the following choice for Google Location Accuracy makes use of Wi-Fi, mobile entry and sensors to raised decide your actual location. Turning this off makes use of solely GPS to pinpoint your whereabouts. For those who want accuracy for Maps and different location-based apps, depart this setting on.

However you’ll be able to flip off the choice for Google Location Historical past as you do not want Google to maintain a operating log of your places. And you’ll flip off the one for Google Location Sharing since this permits your location to be shared with different Google customers in actual time (Determine E).

Determine E

figure-e.jpg

Additionally see

Source link